Railroad Land Grants - Part 1 in our History of US Railroads series

Join Solutionary Rail and Railroad Workers United for a revealing series of discussions on the history of US railroads.

RR-LandGrants-WesternStatehood-hart-1940.jpgWe open this series with a presentation on the Railroad Land Grants of the 1860s, by researcher George Draffan, author of the book Railroads and Clearcuts. George will discuss land grants and their impact on the power of railroads from 1860 to 1941. He will respond to participant questions about the deals struck with Northern Pacific and how Congress and the courts defended - or failed to defend the public's interests. More info on this topic can be found HERE and HERE.

Join us Tuesday, June 8th

TIME: Noon Pacific / 1pm Mountain / 2pm Central / 3pm Eastern

RSVP below for the zoom link to join.

About the series:

Throughout this series we will explore the interweaving of public investment and private profit as related to the US class 1 railroads. We will explore how these common carriers inspired our first regulatory agency the Interstate Commerce Commission. What were the public benefit expectations for that accompanied the monopoly privileges of the railroads? What were they given by the US Congress and what were the terms? 

Together, we will gradually unravel some of the the complex history that is at the foundation for our present day conundrum, i.e. an interstate rail infrastructure that evades public attention and accountability to 21st public interests

 

About our June 8th presenter:

George Draffan is a Seattle-based researcher and historian and the author of Taking Back Our Land: A History of Railroad Land Grant Reform, and co-author with Derrick Jensen and John Osborn of Railroads and Clearcuts: Legacy of Congress's 1864 Northern Pacific Railroad Land Grant.

Next Up: On Tuesday, June 22nd we'll delve into Part 2 of the History of Rail, focusing on the regulatory backbone of the railroads, deregulation, and a timeline of 20th Century oversight.

 

 

This event is co-sponsored by Railroad Workers United.

WHEN
June 08, 2021 at 12pm - 1:30pm
WHERE
Zoom Video Conferencing
CONTACT
Bill Moyer ·

Will you come?

Pitch In Join the Team Take Action